Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers members form Atoms for Peace and record album

Rock legends from Radiohead and Red Hot Chili Peppers have teamed up to form a super band called Atoms for Peace and record and album, according to Rolling Stone.

The nine-track album “AMOK” is set to be released in early 2013, according to the magazine, and has been in the works for a few years.

Atoms for Peace melds RHCP bassist Flea, Radiohead singer Thom Yorke, Radiohead co-producer Nigel Godrich, drummer Joey Waronker, and percussionist Mauro Refosco, who has recorded with the Chili Peppers.

The album is a first for the group, who originally got together back in 2010 when the band briefly played eight US shows. And though they had worked together before, Yorke told Rolling Stone recording the album with the group was no easy feat.

“We'd go in at midday and pretty much work through to 10,” he said. “We were playing all the time. It was bonkers.”

Yorke recently released “Default,” one of the songs from the album, as a teaser.

More On This...

“Default’ started with a mistake on a sampler in my studio,” he told Rolling Stone. “I hadn't patched it in right. It was giving me a tone that, when I put it with a melody, I was like ‘That's nice!’”

Godrich told the magazine fans can expect the album to be “something that hasn’t been done before” because the songs started out as clips from jamming sessions and were later mixed with laptop-composed pieces and studio work from Yorke and Godrich.

“It was sort of a backward idea – and a step into the unknown,” he said.

Yorke added: “One of the things we were most excited about was ending up with a record where you weren't quite sure where the human starts and the machine ends."

Both the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Radiohead released new albums in 2011, and both bands are currently touring.