Ogden, UT (SportsNetwork.com) - Eastern Washington junior quarterback Vernon Adams Jr. was named the Big Sky Conference Offensive Player of the Year on Tuesday, becoming the first repeat winner of the honor since Erik Meyer did it with the Eagles in 2004 and 2005.

Adams, a Walter Payton Award finalist, has helped the Eagles to a third straight conference title.

Montana senior defensive end Zack Wagenmann earned the conference's defensive player of the year award, while Southern Utah junior quarterback Ammon Olsen was named the newcomer of the year and Idaho State linebacker Mario Jenkins the freshman of the year.

The Big Sky will announce its coach of the year on Wednesday.


(As selected by the conference head coaches)



WR - Cooper Kupp, So., Eastern Washington

WR - DeAndre Carter, Sr., Sacramento State

WR - Madison Mangum, So., Idaho State

OT - Jake Rodgers, Sr., Eastern Washington

OT - Ian Joseph, Sr., UC Davis

OG - Aaron Neary, Jr., Eastern Washington

OG - JP Flynn, So., Montana State

C - Cornelius Edison, Sr., Portland State

TE - Tiai Salanoa, Sr., Montana State

QB - Vernon Adams Jr., Jr. Eastern Washington

QB - Justin Arias, Sr., Idaho State

RB - Xavier Finney, Jr., Idaho State

RB - Jordan Canada, Sr., Montana

FB - Nick Butier, Jr., Northern Arizona

PK - Brad Cornish, Jr., Sacramento State

RS - Alex Tillman, Sr., North Dakota


Chad Newell, So., Montana State


DT - Tonga Takai, Sr., Montana

DT - Lexington Smith, Sr., Northern Colorado

DE - Zack Wagenmann, Sr., Montana

DE - James Cowser, Jr., Southern Utah

OLB - Alex Singleton, Sr., Montana State

OLB - Cameron Ontko, Sr., Cal Poly

ILB - Nick Dzubnar, Sr., Cal Poly

ILB - Ronnie Hamlin, Sr., Eastern Washington

CB - Deonte Flowers, Sr., Montana State

CB - Marcus Alford, Jr., Northern Arizona

S - Tevin McDonald, Sr., Eastern Washington

S - Matt Hermanson, Sr., Montana

P - Kyle Loomis, Sr., Portland State