Maria Sharapova and Caroline Wozniacki were both winners Friday, and the former world No. 1s will square off in the final of the $5.186 million BNP Paribas Open.

Sharapova took down 13th-seeded Maria Kirilenko, 6-4, 6-3, in an all-Russian semifinal on the hardcourts at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

With the victory, Sharapova overtook Victoria Azarenka for the No.2 spot in the world rankings. Sharapova lost to Azarenka in last year's final here, but won the title in 2006.

Earlier Friday, Wozniacki overcame a disastrous opening set to upend fourth- seeded Angelique Kerber of Germany 2-6, 6-4, 7-5. The eighth-seeded Dane spoiled a chance to end the match on her serve, but broke right back to reach her first final of the year.

Wozniacki, who is 2-4 in her career against Sharapova, won here in 2011 and was the runner-up in 2010.

Saturday's champion will be awarded $1 million.