Eindhoven, Netherlands (SportsNetwork.com) - PSV Eindhoven clinched its first Eredivisie title since 2008 by running out to a 4-1 victory over Heerenveen at the Philips Stadion on Saturday.

The hosts were in control from the start as Luuk de Jong opened the scoring in the third minute while Memphis Depay doubled the advantage in the 24th.

Heerenveen managed to pull one back three minutes later through Joey van den Berg, but PSV restored its two-goal lead just before the break thanks to a second goal from De Jong.

PSV maintained its dominance over Heerenveen the rest of the way and even received a goal in the 89th minute from Luciano Narsingh, capping a memorable performance to bring an end to Ajax's four-year reign as Eredivisie title- holders.

Vitesse maintained fourth place in the Dutch top flight by cruising to a 3-0 defeat of Dordrecht on Saturday. Valeri Kazaishvili bagged a brace in the affair while Renato Ibarra chipped in with a second-half goal.

AZ Alkmaar claimed a 3-1 victory over Den Haag on Saturday to remain just one point back of Vitesse. Nemanja Gudelj and Wilson Eduardo exchanged goals before Derrick Luckassen provided the winner at the hour mark and Gudelj added an insurance goal five minutes later.

Also on Saturday, Tjaronn Chery led the way with a brace as Groningen earned a convincing 4-1 victory at Willem II.