Past champion Oregon State heads CBI field

Princeton, NJ ( - Past champion Oregon State headlined the field of 16 teams announced Sunday for the College Basketball Invitational.

The first three rounds of the tournament are single-elimination but the two finalists will play a best-of-three series. All of the tournament's games are at home sites.

Oregon State and Pac-12 scoring leader Roberto Nelson will host Radford on Wednesday. The winner will advance to face either Old Dominion or South Dakota State.

On top of the bracket, Wyoming visits Texas A&M and Illinois State hosts Morehead State.

On the other side of the bracket, Fresno State goes to UTEP with the winner playing either Tulane or Princeton. Penn State hosts Hampton with the chance to meet either Stony Brook or Siena.

The tournament kicks off with the Stony Brook-Siena game on Tuesday. The other first-round games will take place Wednesday. The finals begin on March 31.

Santa Clara won the tournament last season. Oregon State titled in 2009.