10 things you need to know about the Indy 500

Sunday's running of the Indianapolis 500 will mark the 100th running of what arguably is the most famous race in the world. Here are 10 things you need to know about the Brickyard and this year's race.

10. FROM THE BEGINNING --  The inaugural Indy 500 in 1911 was one by Ray Harroun. The defending event winner is Juan Pablo Montoya, who is a two-time race winner, having won his first 500 15 years earlier.

9. FORMIDABLE FRONT-ROW -- Canadian racer James Hinchcliffe, who suffered a near-fatal crash in Indianapolis 500 practice last year, will start on the pole this year, flanked by Josef Newgarden and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

8. POLE POSITION -- Twenty drivers have won the race from the pole - most recently Helio Castroneves in 2009.

7. HOT STREAK -- Tony Kanaan has finished in the top four in three of the last five Indianapolis 500s, including his win in 2013.

6. TRIPLE THREAT -- Juan Pablo Montoya has  finished in top five in his three previous Indianapolis 500 starts.

5. GIRL POWER -- Pippa Mann is the only woman entered in this year's race. This is the 17thconsecutive Indy 500 with a female driver.

4. FIRST APPEARANCES -- The Indy 500 will be the first Verizon IndyCar Series race at the Brickyard for Matt Brabham, Max Chilton, Spencer Pigot, Alexander Rossi and Stefan Wilson.

3. PAST WINNERS -- Six of the 33 drivers entered are past 500 winners. Helio Castroneves won the race three times (2001, 2002 and 2009), while teammate Juan Pablo Montoya is a two-time winner (2000 and 2015). Buddy Lazier (1996), Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014) have one victory each. 

2. DOUBLE DUTY -- Two drivers can become the first to win on both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and the 2.5-mile oval: Simon Pagenaud and Will Power have road course wins.

1. OUT FRONT -- For the 100th running of the 500, Roger Penske will drive the Chevrolet Camaro Pace Car. That's only appropriate, as its his 50th anniversary year in racing and Team Penske has a record 16 Indy 500 victories.  Chip Ganassi Racing has won four times. Andretti Autosport has three wins while A.J. Foyt Enterprises has won twice.

More auto news from Fox Sports