Google preps new privacy controls to let you delete your location data

Google is preparing new privacy controls that can periodically erase your location history from the company's servers.

They will be three options: Erase the data every three months, every 18 months, or keep the data until you delete it manually.

"You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you—and we're committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen," Google said in a blog post on Wednesday.

Currently, you can permanently wipe all your location data from Google, but it involves clicking through your Google account, and then hitting the trash bin icon. You can also switch off the location tracking to prevent the tech giant from knowing your current whereabouts. But it'll come at the expense of disabling certain features on Google products, such as location-based recommendations Google Maps can send you.

More From PCmag

The upcoming auto-delete control potentially offers a better compromise for people who want location-based tips from Google without sacrificing as much private information. Expect the new privacy controls to arrive in the coming weeks through the Location History and Web & Activity menu in your Google account.

The tech giant created the new control amid ongoing scrutiny of its privacy practices. Last year, the Associated Press reported that Google was collecting the location-tracking information from users even when they had "paused" the function on their smartphones. In response, the company said it can also collect people's data through other services such as Google Search.

To understand what the company knows about location activities, it's a good idea to check out your Google account and review your privacy settings.

This article originally appeared on PCMag.com.