Rodgers, Kiwanuka, Peterson named NFC players of the week

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, Giants linebacker Mathias Kiwanuka and Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson have been honored as the NFC's top players for Week 9 of the NFL season.

Rodgers earned his third offensive player of the week award this season by completing 21-of-26 passes for 247 yards and four touchdowns in Green Bay's 45-38 victory over San Diego. He also added 52 rushing yards as the Packers became just the third defending Super Bowl champions to start the following season 8-0.

Kiwanuka took home his second career defensive award by recording 12 tackles and an interception in the Giants' 24-20 win over the New England Patriots. The win by New York snapped New England's 20-game regular season home winning streak, as well as Patriots quarterback Tom Brady's personal 31-game home winning streak.

Peterson earned the special teams player of the week honor with his game- winning 99-yard punt return touchdown in overtime. It gave the Cardinals a 19-13 victory over the St. Louis Rams, and it was the rookie's third punt return for a touchdown this season, tying him for fourth-most in a single season in NFL history. It also tied him with Chicago's Devin Hester for second-most among rookies all-time.

Others considered for the offensive award included San Francisco's Frank Gore, who rushed for 107 yards in the 49ers' 19-11 win over Washington; Chicago's Earl Bennett, who had five catches for 95 yards and a touchdown in the Bears' 30-24 victory over Philadelphia; Atlanta's Julio Jones, who caught three balls for 131 yards and two touchdowns in the Falcons' 31-7 win in Indianapolis; and the Giants' Eli Manning, who threw for 250 yards and two touchdowns.

Defensive nominees included Giants linebacker Michael Boley, who had 10 tackles, a sack and a forced fumble; Packers' safety Charlie Peprah, who had six tackles and two interceptions, including a 40-yard touchdown; and 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis, who had 13 tackles and a forced fumble.

San Francisco kicker David Akers was considered for the special teams award for converting on field goals of 52, 34, 45 and 20 yards.