Report: Big East to announce 5 new members

Facing several high-profile departures, the Big East will finally announce the decision to add five new schools as early as Wednesday, according to a report.

The conference is expected to add Boise State and San Diego State as football- only members, the New York Daily News reported Tuesday. It will add Houston, SMU and Central Florida for all other sports.

According to the paper, the decision was reached following a meeting Monday between league officials and athletic directors from the remaining football schools -- Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida.

The Big East wants the five new schools added in time for the 2013 season, the Daily News reported, and hopes Air Force and Navy join later.

The conference is facing the departures of Syracuse and Pittsburgh in two years -- both longtime Big East schools are headed to the ACC -- while West Virginia's planned departure for the Big 12 Conference has resulted in lawsuits being filed by both sides.

TCU had earlier agreed to leave the Mountain West Conference for the Big East, but accepted an invitation to join the Big 12 instead.