LSU, Alabama clean up at awards ceremony

LSU and Alabama fittingly captured a majority of the hardware given out at Disney World on Thursday during college football's awards ceremony.

Stanford's Andrew Luck was the biggest individual winner, taking home the Maxwell Award as the nation's top all-around player and the Walter Camp Award, which honors the player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information directors. Luck was also presented with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as the top senior signal-caller.

But the Tigers of LSU and Crimson Tide of Alabama showed why they will meet in the BCS National Championship Game next month.

For LSU, junior cornerback Morris Claiborne was named the winner of the Jim Thorpe Award, given each year to the nation's top defensive back, while sophomore cornerback Tyrann Mathieu nabbed the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's top defensive player.

The Tigers' Les Miles was also honored with the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, while defensive coordinator John Chavis was the recipient of the Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

As for Alabama, junior running back Trent Richardson captured the Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation's top running back, while his top blocker, left tackle Barrett Jones, won the Outland Trophy as the top interior lineman.

Baylor junior quarterback Robert Griffin III nabbed the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

Luck, Mathieu, Richardson and Green are all nominated for the Heisman Trophy, along with Wisconsin running back Montee Ball.

Also on Thursday, Clemson's Dwayne Allen won John Mackey Award (tight end), Michigan's David Molk was given the Dave Rimington Award (center), Texas A&M's Randy Bullock captured the Lou Groza Award (placekicker) and Louisiana Tech's Ryan Allen was the Ray Guy Award winner (punter).

Earlier this week, Boston College's Luke Kuechly won the Lombardi Award (lineman) and Dick Butkus Award (linebacker). Illinois junior Whitney Mercilus was the recipient of the Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, and Army senior linebacker Andrew Rodriguez has won the William V. Campbell Trophy, known as the academic Heisman.