Henry, Wondolowski and Zusi finalists for MLS MVP

Red Bull New York forward Thierry Henry is one of three finalists announced Thursday for the 2012 MLS MVP award.

Henry enjoyed his best season in MLS with 15 goals and 12 assists in just 25 matches, helping New York qualify for the playoffs in the Eastern Conference.

He will face competition from Chris Wondolowski and Graham Zusi, who led their respective teams to first place in their respective conferences in the regular season.

Wondolowski tied the MLS record for goals in a season with 27, helping the San Jose Earthquakes finish first in the Western Conference with the top record in the league.

Zusi, a midfielder, had five goals and an MLS-high 15 assists to lead Sporting Kansas City to first place in the Eastern Conference.

The MVP will be revealed Nov. 29, ending a stretch of less than two weeks when the league will hand out all of its 2012 awards.

Finalists for the other MLS awards were also announced Thursday. Following are the list of finalists in other major categories:

Rookie of the Year: Austin Berry (Chicago Fire), Nick DeLeon (D.C. United), Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps FC).

Defender of the Year: Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City).

Coach of the Year: Ben Olsen (D.C. United), Peter Vermes (Sporting Kansas City), Frank Yallop (San Jose Earthquakes).

Comeback Player of the Year: Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Pontius (D.C. United).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC), Dan Kennedy (Chivas USA), Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City).

Newcomer of the Year: Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC), Federico Higuain (Columbus Crew).