Federer, Nadal win Indian Wells openers

Indian Wells, CA (SportsNetwork.com) - Four-time champion Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal were both winners in second round action of the BNP Paribas Open on Sunday.

Federer fired eight aces against Argentine Diego Schwartzman and didn't face a break point in the 63-minute match, winning by a 6-4, 6-2 final. The second- seeded Swiss star lost to Novak Djokovic in last year's final at Indian Wells.

Nadal, who has won this event three times, cruised past Igor Sijsling, 6-4, 6-2 on the hardcourts at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Sixth-seeded Canadian Milos Raonic defeated Italian Simone Bolelli 6-3, 6-4 to reach the third round, while Robin Haase of the Netherlands stunned seventh- seeded Swiss Stan Wawrinka 6-3, 3-6, 6-3.

Other seeded winners included: Tomas Berdych (9), Grigor Dimitrov (11), Gilles Simon (13), Roberto Bautista Agut (15) and Tommy Robredo (17), Lukas Rosol (27) and Andreas Seppi (31).

Ukrainian Alexandr Dolgopolov, who reached the semifinals last year, topped 29th-seeded Colombian Santiago Giraldo 6-1, 7-6 (7-4).

Americans Steve Johnson, Donald Young and Jack Sock were also among the winners. Johnson upended 21st-seeded Ivo Karlovic (21), 6-3, 7-6 (7-5), Young beat 31st-seeded Frenchman Jeremy Chardy 6-4, 6-2, and Sock rallied for a 3-6, 6-3, 7-6 (9-7) win over Luxembourg's Gilles Muller.

German qualifier Michael Berrer moved on when 22nd-seeded Frenchman Richard Gasquet retired trailing 3-1 in the third set.