Djokovic, Murray advance at Indian Wells

Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray were third-round winners at the $4.33 million BNP Paribas Open.

The top-seeded Djokovic downed 31st-seeded Grigor Dimitrov 7-6 (7-4), 6-1, while the third-seeded Murray defeated Yen-Hsuan Lu 6-3, 6-2. on a hot day at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

The Australian Open champion Djokovic titled here in 2008 and 2011 and was the runner-up in 2007. The U.S. Open champion Murray was the Indian Wells runner-up in 2009

Eighth-seeded Jo-Wilfried Tsonga dismissed 32nd-seeded Mardy Fish, 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (7-0). Fish was playing his first tennis here after being sidelined since September because of heart-related issues. The former top-10 star was the Indian Wells runner-up in 2008.

Meanwhile, 17th-seeded Milos Raonic upended 12th seed Marin Cilic 3-6, 6-4, 6-3, No. 7 seed Juan Martin Del Potro took out Bjorn Phau 6-2, 7-5, 19th- seeded Tommy Haas was a 6-3, 6-7 (2-7), 7-6 (7-2) winner over No. 11 seed Nicolas Almagro, Carlos Berlocq was a 6-2, 6-2 straight-set victor over 16th- seeded Kei Nishikori and 23rd-seeded Sam Querrey downed Marinko Matosevic 7-6 (7-5), 6-7 (7-9), 7-5.

The 2013 Indian Wells champ will collect $1 million.