Indian Wells, CA (SportsNetwork.com) - Second seed Novak Djokovic earned a straight-set win Sunday, and fourth seed Tomas Berdych was a surprising second-round loser at the $4.72 million BNP Paribas Open, the first Masters 1000 event of the year.

Djokovic got past Victor Hanescu, 7-6 (7-1), 6-2, while Spaniard Roberto Bautista Agut pulled off the upset of Berdych, rallying for a 4-6, 6-2, 6-4 victory. Bautista Agut was a point away from leading 4-1 in the decisive set before the Czech battled back. The world No. 53 broke Berdych's serve for the fifth time in the match at 4-4.

Berdych last dropped an opening match at a Masters 1000 tournament in Montreal in 2009. He was coming off a loss to Roger Federer in last week's Dubai final, a setback that ended a career-best 11-match winning streak.

Meanwhile, Juan Martin del Potro withdrew from the event Sunday due to a left wrist injury. Del Potro lost to Rafael Nadal in last year's Indian Wells final.

Lucky loser James Ward replaced del Potro in the draw and quickly exited following a hard-fought 3-6, 6-2, 6-4 loss to Feliciano Lopez.

There were two other injuries, as No. 8 Richard Gasquet moved on when Teymuraz Gabashvili, after losing the first eight games of the match, was forced to retire, while No. 26 Florian Mayer's departure advanced Jarkko Nieminen.

John Isner, the 2012 Indian Wells runner-up, advanced with a 7-6 (7-5), 6-3 win over Russian Nikolay Davydenko. The 12th-seeded American will next play Chinese Taipei's Yen-Hsun Lu, who dropped only four games in a win over 22nd- seeded German Philipp Kohlschreiber.

Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, who was seeded ninth this week, dropped a 6-4, 6-4 decision to fellow countryman Julien Benneteau, and another seeded player from France, No. 21 Gilles Simon, bowed to Dominic Thiem 7-6 (7-5), 6-2.

Two other seeded players were ousted. Kazakhstan's Mikhail Kukushkin bested No. 25 Canadian Vasek Pospisil 6-0, 6-2 and Colombian Alejandro Gonzalez outlasted No. 31 Croat Ivan Dodig 6-4, 2-6, 7-6 (7-5).

Croat Marin Cilic, the 24th seed, picked up his tour-leading 19th win of the year as he breezed past Italian qualifier Paolo Lorenzi 6-2, 6-2.

Other winners included 15th-seeded Grigor Dimitrov, 16th-seeded Tommy Robredo, 20th-seeded Ernests Gulbis and 30th-seeded Fernando Verdasco.