Bell, Fort take MVFC top honors

Indiana State running back Shakir Bell and Northern Iowa linebacker L.J. Fort have been named the Missouri Valley Football Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Monday.

North Dakota State's Craig Bohl was named the 'Bruce Craddock' Valley Football Coach of the Year.

2011 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference First Team

(as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors)


QB - Kurt Hess, Youngstown State

QB - Tirrell Rennie, Northern Iowa

RB - Shakir Bell, Indiana State

RB - Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State

FB - Brock Lough, Indiana State

WR - Terriun Crump, Western Illinois

WR - Jermaine Saffold, Missouri State

TE - Alex Jones, Indiana State

OL - Bryan Boemer, Southern Illinois

OL - Paul Cornick, North Dakota State

OL - FN Lutz, Indiana State

OL - Cal McCarthy, Illinois State

OL - Jay Teply, Northern Iowa


DL - Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa

DL - Colter Boyer, North Dakota State

DL - Eric Brunner, Illinois State

DL - Ben Obaseki, Indiana State

LB - Aaron Archie, Indiana State

LB - L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa

LB - Evan Frierson, Illinois State

LB - Chad Wilson, North Dakota State

DB - Mike McElroy, Southern Illinois

DB - Alex Sewall, Indiana State

DB - Varmah Sonie, Northern Iowa

DB - Marcus Williams, North Dakota State

Special Teams

PK - Tyler Sieversten, Northern Iowa

P - Jason Schlautman, North Dakota State

RS - Steve Strother, Southern Illinois