List of 24 new cardinals

The following is a list of the 24 cardinals formally created by Pope Benedict XVI Saturday and their postings.

Monsignor Angelo Amato, prefect of the Congregation of the Causes of Saints, Vatican.

Antonios Naguib, Patriarch of Alexandria of the Copts (Egypt)

Monsignor Robert Sarah, president, Pontifical Council "Cor Unum," Vatican

Monsignor Francesco Monterisi, archpriest of the papal Basilica of St. Paul outside the Walls, Rome

Monsignor Fortunato Baldelli, chief confession official, Vatican

Monsignor Raymond Leo Burke, prefect of Supreme Tribunal of Apostolic Court, Vatican.

Monsignor Kurt Koch, president, Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity, Vatican

Monsignor Paolo Sardi, deputy chamberlain, Vatican

Monsignor Mauro Piacenza, prefect of Congregation for the Clergy, Vatican

Monsignor Velasio De Paolis, president of the Prefect's Office of Economic Affairs, Vatican

Monsignor Gianfranco Ravasi, president, Pontifical Council for Culture, Vatican

Monsignor Merardo Joseph Mazombwe, archbishop emeritus of Lusaka, Zambia

Monsignor Raul Eduardo Vela Chiribog, archbishop emeritus of Quito, Ecuador

Monsignor Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya, archbishop of Kinshasha, Democratic Republic of Congo

Monsignor Paolo Romeo, archbishop of Palermo, Sicily

Monsignor Donald William Wuerl, archbishop of Washington, D.C.

Monsignor Raymundo Damasceno Assis, archbishop of Aparecida, Brazil

Monsignor Kazimierz Nycz, archbishop of Warsaw, Poland

Monsignor Albert Malcolm Ranjith Patabendige Don, archbishop of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Monsignor Reinhard Marx, archbishop of Munich and Freising

The following clergymen were elevated to cardinals as sign of gratitude to service to church and aren't assigned to any post.

Monsignor Jose Manuel Estepa Llaurens, archbishop emeritus of the military order, Spain

Monsignor Elio Sgreccia, former Vatican official, Italy

Monsignor Walter Brandmueller, former Vatican official, Germany

Monsignor Domenico Bartolucci, former Vatican official, Italy