(SportsNetwork.com) - The Redskins haven't had a first-round pick in the NFL Draft since mortgaging their future in 2012 to go up and get Robert Griffin III. It's ironic that now that they are finally back in the game with the fifth-overall selection, the organization is weighing whether they need to move on from the talented but oft-injured signal caller.

If coach Jay Gruden had a vote there is little doubt that the 'Skins would be moving on from Griffin but owner Daniel Snyder is still very fond of RG3 and if push comes to shove, the belief is Gruden will be leaving the Beltway far earlier than RG3.

New Washington general manager Scot McCloughan, a talent over need guy, is stuck in the middle of this mess and the Washington Post has already reported that the team is expected to exercise Griffin's fifth-option after the draft, indicating it's unlikely the Redskins want to retreat to square one with a project like Marcus Mariota.

If Mariota is taken out of the equation this probably comes down to rock-solid Iowa offensive lineman Brandon Scherff or an edge defender, one of the deepest positions in this draft. From a need standpoint, the O-line is a better fit for the Redskins but players like Florida's Dante Fowler and Clemson's Vic Beasley are higher-ranked prospects on most boards. Meanwhile, there is no guarantee second-year man Trent Murphy develops into a capable complement to the underrated Ryan Kerrigan.

Expect McCloughan to stay true to his board with Beasley the more likely scenario if Jacksonville hones it on Fowler as expected with the No. 3 choice. Despite lacking the prototypical length you look for, Beasley has the strength and athleticism to standout pretty quickly.

2014 Record: 4-12

Top Needs: S, OL, CB

First Three Picks: No. 5, No. 38, No. 69

Number of Selections: 7 (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)

RECENT FIRST ROUND HISTORY: 2014 - none; 2013 - none; 2012 - Robert Griffin III (QB, Baylor); 2011 - Ryan Kerrigan (OLB, Purdue); 2010 - Trent Williams (OT, Oklahoma; 2009 - Brian Orakpo (DE, Texas); 2008 - none; 2007 - LaRon Landry (S, LSU); 2006 - none; 2005 - Carlos Rogers (CB, Auburn)