Sedin named Sporting News' player of the year

The Sporting News announced today that Henrik Sedin has been named as the 2010 Sporting News' NHL Player of the Year. Based on a poll conducted among NHL players, Sedin collected 108 first-place votes, followed by Washington's Alex Ovechkin (86) and Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby (72).

Sedin finished the season with a league-lead 112 points (29-83-112), winning the Art Ross Trophy for the first time in franchise history. The Ornskoldsvik, Sweden native set three new franchise records in 2009-10: becoming the club's all-time assist leader, passing Trevor Linden; eclipsing Pavel Bure's single season points record; and establishing the single-season assists record, surpassing the previous record he posted in 2006-07.

Henrik Sedin has also been nominated for the 2009-10 Hart Trophy as the player considered to be most valuable to his team and the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHLPA's most outstanding player. The winners of both awards will be announced during the 2010 NHL Awards live broadcast on CBC in Las Vegas on June 23.

For full story, click here.