Milwaukee Brewers outfielder Ryan Braun was named National League MVP Tuesday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Braun garnered 20 of the 32 first-place votes, beating out Los Angeles Dodgers center fielder Matt Kemp, who claimed 10 top votes.

The four-time All-Star adds the MVP trophy to his 2007 Rookie of the Year Award. The Brewers' 2005 first-round, fifth overall, draft pick becomes the fourth Milwaukee player to win an MVP award, joining Hall of Famers Robin Yount, Rollie Fingers and Henry "Hank" Aaron, who won the award as a member of the Milwaukee Braves in 1957.

The award capped yet another productive year for Braun, who finished first in the NL in slugging percentage with .597 and on-base plus slugging percentage (OPS) at .994. Braun's .332 batting average in 2011 was second in the NL only to Mets shortstop Jose Reyes, who hit .337.

The 28-year-old slugger notched 33 home runs, 111 RBIs and 33 stolen bases this season, helping Milwaukee achieve 96 wins and a first-place finish in the NL Central.

Braun has displayed remarkable consistency since coming into the league in 2007, averaging 32 home runs, 106 RBIs and nearly 75 extra-base hits per season to go with a .312 career batting average.

"Ryan Braun is going to have a statue outside Miller Park someday," Brewers owner Mark Attanasio told MLB.com last week.