NEW YORK (Reuters) - Dallas Stars left wing Loui Eriksson, Detroit Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom and Tampa Bay Lightning right wing Martin St. Louis are finalists for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, the NHL said on Thursday.

The winner of the award, given to the player who exhibits the best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability, will be announced on June 22 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

St. Louis, a six-time finalist who won the award last year, enjoyed a late surge to the regular season to finish second in league scoring with 99 points while matching a career-low 12 penalty minutes.

Red Wings captain Lidstrom, who has never won the award despite five previous nominations, ranked second among NHL defensemen in scoring with 62 points while receiving just 20 penalty minutes and leading his team in ice time.

Eriksson, who led the Stars in power-play and game-winning goals, finished the season with a career-high 73 points while logging a mere eight minutes in penalties, the fewest among the league's top 50 scorers.

(Reporting by Frank Pingue in Toronto; Editing by Julian Linden)