IndyCar drivers De Silvestro, Pagenaud, Vautier penalized for unapproved engine changes

IndyCar drivers Simona De Silvestro, Simon Pagenaud and Tristan Vautier have been penalized for making unapproved engine changes.

Each was imposed a 10-grid spot penalty for the start of Saturday night's race in Texas for changes made since last weekend's doubleheader in Detroit.

De Silvestro dropped a full 10 spots, from her qualifying position of 12th to 22nd. Pagenaud, who won a Detroit race, will start 23rd after qualifying 14th at Texas. Vautier, the only rookie driver, didn't post a qualifying time and was already at the back of the 24-car field.

InyCar said Pagenaud and Vautier made engine changes before the minimum mileage threshold of 2,000 miles. De Silvestro's team didn't inform the series engineer of its engine failure in proper time after the last race.