APR playoff bans for three FCS programs

The NCAA announced Wednesday that three historically black universities from the Football Championship Subdivision are ineligible for the 2012 playoffs because of Academic Progress Rate penalties.

The programs are Hampton and North Carolina A&T from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference and Texas Southern from the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

The MEAC champion gains an automatic berth to the FCS playoffs while the SWAC holds a conference champion for its two division winners. Each conference is eligible for at-large berths.

APR scores measure the classroom performance of a team over a four-year period. The new scores reflect the 2007-08 through 2010-11 school years.