This Week in Auto Racing July 4 - 6

Daytona Beach, FL ( - There will be plenty of fireworks at Daytona International Speedway this Fourth of July weekend, as the NASCAR Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series return to the "World Center of Racing."


Sprint Cup Series

Coke Zero 400 - Daytona International Speedway - Daytona Beach, Florida

The Sprint Cup Series has returned to Daytona International Speedway for its mid-summer classic, the Coke Zero 400, on Saturday night.

Having won the Daytona 500 in February, Dale Earnhardt Jr. will attempt to become the sixth driver to score a season-sweep at this famed 2.5-mile superspeedway.

For more than 30 years, a season-sweep had not occurred at Daytona until Jimmie Johnson -- Earnhardt's teammate at Hendrick Motorsports -- accomplished the feat in 2013. Johnson became the first driver to win the Daytona 500 and the 400-mile July race here since Bobby Allison in 1982.

Fireball Roberts (1962), Cale Yarborough (1968) and LeeRoy Yarbrough (1969) are the other drivers who have won both races at Daytona in the same season.

"I would love to sweep the races at Daytona because that is a cool thing," Earnhardt said. "I just love winning here. So to go to victory lane here, regardless of what we did in February, would mean a lot to me. I expect that we will try to do the best thing that we can to help us strategy-wise so that we are toward the front."

Earnhardt won the 400-mile race at Daytona for the first time in July 2001, nearly five months after his father's fatal crash during the last lap of the Daytona 500. But Earnhardt has not been to victory lane for the 400-miler here since then.

This weekend's race at Daytona is the third of four restrictor-plate races in the series this year. The final restrictor-plate event of the season is scheduled for Oct. 19 at Talladega (the sixth round in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship).

When the series ran its most recent restrictor-plate race in May at Talladega, Earnhardt had led three times for a total of 26 laps and was in contention to win until the final few laps when he fell back in the pack and ended up finishing 26th. Earnhardt took blame for his poor finish there.

"It was embarrassing," he said. "I hate to talk about it. The way we ran and what I chose to do at the end of that race is just really uncharacteristic of anybody that is in the field and trying to compete. I just got really frustrated with the way things were working out for us.

"I lost sight of the overall big picture, what you are out there trying to do, who all is out there depending on you to do it, and what you need to do. I learned some lessons and you are never too old to learn them. You are never too old to be taught a lesson either. I definitely experienced that in Talladega this year.

Since Talladega, Earnhardt has recorded six top-10 finishes in seven races. He won the June event at Pocono after passing Brad Keselowski for the lead with five laps to go. Earnhardt's two wins during the regular season has all-but- secured him a spot in the Chase, which begins on Sept. 14 at Chicagoland. He is currently third in the point standings (24 points behind leader and teammate Jeff Gordon).

The last time Earnhardt won more than one race during a season was in 2004 when he drove for Dale Earnhardt Inc. He posted six victories that year, including his first Daytona 500 win.

Earnhardt has been in the Chase each year since he was paired with crew chief Steve Letarte in 2011. Prior to the start of this season, Letarte announced that he will leave Earnhardt's team at the end of the year and join NBC Sports for its coverage of NASCAR next season.

For now, Earnhardt and Letarte are focused on winning the championship.

"I am just thrilled with the way the team is competing," Earnhardt said. "I know we have been doing some great work since the beginning of the Chase last year, maybe even a little bit before that. I thought in the Chase we had done everything just right except for Chicago. I thought that whatever happens in the offseason is going to tell us if we can be good enough to win a championship this year.

"If you look at the graph going back to 2011 when Steve and I got together, if you look at our performance, it's been a linear trajectory in improvement. It just seemed to make sense that this year would be that much better."

Only once has Earnhardt scored a season-sweep at a track during his 15-year career in the Cup Series, doing so in 2002 at Talladega, as part of his four wins in a row there.

Forty-four teams are on the entry list for the Coke Zero 400.

Nationwide Series

Subway Firecracker 250 - Daytona Int'l Speedway - Daytona Beach, Florida

The "Dash 4 Cash" returns to the Nationwide Series for a sixth consecutive year, starting with Friday night's 250-mile race at Daytona International Speedway.

The top-four finishing series regulars (those drivers who are eligible to receive Nationwide championship points) in the Daytona race will qualify for the first of four events in this year's bonus program from Nationwide Insurance, which is the title sponsor of NASCAR's second-tier series.

Whoever finishes highest among the four eligible drivers in the July 12 race at New Hampshire -- the first event in the Dash 4 Cash -- will collect a $100,000 bonus. That person as well as the next three highest-finishing series regulars at New Hampshire will qualify for the next Dash 4 Cash race, scheduled for July 19 at Chicagoland.

The final two events in the bonus program are Indianapolis (July 26) and Iowa (Aug. 2).

"This Dash 4 Cash brings a lot of attention to our teams, and it brings a lot of attention to our drivers," said Elliott Sadler, who is the current Nationwide points leader. "There's a lot of incentive - $100,000 is a ton of money for a Nationwide driver these days. Most of all, it brings a lot of attention to our sponsors. Our sponsors love it when you're part of the Dash 4 Cash, and we've been very fortunate enough the last couple of years to win a couple of these things each year and be a part of them."

If one drivers wins the Dash 4 Cash bonus at New Hampshire, Chicagoland and Indianapolis and then scores the victory in the Iowa race, that person will be awarded an additional $600,000, bring the total payout to $1 million.

Last year, Daytona was the first of four races in the Dash 4 Cash. Austin Dillon, Kyle Larson, Brian Vickers and Sadler were the four drivers eligible, since they were the top-points-eligible finishers in the previous Nationwide race, held at Kentucky. Sadler finished third at Daytona and collected $100,000.

"Daytona is kind of a wild car race, and anything can happen, so you've got to be up front all night to have a chance to be a part of the Dash 4 Cash going to New Hampshire," Sadler said. "I like the new format where it's four or five weeks in a row. Just that intensity carried on a lot of different style racetracks."

Sadler holds only a four-point lead over rookie Chase Elliott. Regan Smith is just eight points out of the lead. Smith won the Nationwide season-opener at Daytona in February.

Forty-five drivers are on the entry list for the Subway Firecracker 250. Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Larson, Joey Logano and David Ragan are those Sprint Cup Series regulars scheduled to compete in this race.