After failing to make it on the 2013 Formula One schedule due to financial issues, the Grand Prix of America is on for next year.

F1's governing body, the FIA, announced after a meeting of its World Motor Sports Council on Friday that New Jersey, Austria, Mexico and Russia have been included to the 2014 world championship calendar, which features a record 22 grand prix. New Jersey and Mexico as well as Korea are listed as provisional. Korea has been on the schedule each year since 2010.

The GP of America, scheduled for June 1, will be the second of three consecutive weekends, placed between the May 25 Monaco Grand Prix and the June 8 Canadian Grand Prix. The New Jersey race will be contested on the 3.2-mile Port Imperial street circuit that runs along the banks of the Hudson River in Weehawken and West New York. The Manhattan skyline will serve as its backdrop.

"The entire Grand Prix of America team is thrilled to join the 2014 FIA calendar and we look forward to bringing world-class Formula One racing to New Jersey," race promoter Leo Hindery Jr. said in a statement.

Last October, the GP of America was dropped from the '13 schedule and postponed until the following year after local organizers could not raise enough sponsorship money and were behind in obtaining permits needed to alter local streets. This year's event had been slated as the eighth round in the 20-grand prix calendar.

The June 22 Austrian Grand Prix will be held at Spielberg's Red Bull Ring, formerly known as the A1-Ring. The venue previously hosted Austrian race from 1997-2003.

The Nov. 16 Mexican Grand Prix is scheduled as the penultimate round on next year's calendar. It will be contested at Mexico City's Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. F1's last trip to Mexico was in 1992.

On the first weekend in October 2014, The inaugural Russian Grand Prix will run at an all-new circuit in Sochi, which is the home of the 2014 Winter Olympic Games.

If the WMSC confirms Korea later this year, it is scheduled for April 27. This year's Korean Grand Prix is slated for Oct. 6.

The 2014 Formula One world championship schedule:

March 16 - Australia

March 30 - Malaysia

April 6 - Bahrain

April 20 - China

April 27 - Korea (provisional)

May 11 - Spain

May 25 - Monaco

June 1 - New Jersey (provisional)

June 8 - Canada

June 22 - Austria

July 6 - Britain

July 20 - Germany

July 27 - Hungary

Aug. 24 - Belgium

Sept. 7 - Italy

Sept. 21 - Singapore

Oct. 5 - Russia

Oct. 12 - Japan

Oct. 26 - Abu Dhabi

Nov. 9 - Austin, Texas

Nov. 16 - Mexico (provisional)

Nov. 30 - Brazil