LeBron James wins 3rd NBA MVP award

LeBron James is the NBA's MVP for the third time.

The Miami Heat forward becomes the eighth player in league history to win the award three times. The league made the announcement Saturday, shortly before James was to appear at a news conference in Miami to discuss the award.

Commissioner David Stern will present James with the trophy Sunday afternoon before Miami faces Indiana in Game 1 of an Eastern Conference semifinal series.

The other winners of at least three MVP awards are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Larry Bird, Magic Johnson and Moses Malone.