New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Ottawa's Erik Karlsson, Montreal's P.K. Subban and Los Angeles' Drew Doughty are the finalists for the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the NHL's top defenseman.

Karlsson, who won the award in 2012, led all defensemen in points with 66 and ranked second among his counterparts with a career-high 21 goals in 82 games. He finished third in the league in average ice time (27:15 per game).

Subban, the 2013 Norris Trophy winner, set career highs in goals (15) assists (45), points (60) and plus-minus (+21) while playing in all 82 games. He was part of a Montreal defense corps that shared first in the NHL for the fewest goals against.

Doughty played in all 82 games, leading the league in total time on ice (2,377:40) and ranking second at nearly 29 minutes per game. A Norris finalist in 2010, he also totaled seven goals and 39 assists.

The winner will be announced June 24 during the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas.