Kansas earns top seed in South

The Kansas Jayhawks, fresh off their sixth Big 12 Tournament title in the last eight years, were named the second No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Kansas (29-5) will be the top seed in the South Region and will open play against Sun Belt champion Western Kentucky on Friday in Kansas City.

The Jayhawks ran into some struggles midway through the season, dropping three straight games for the first time since 2004-05, but appeared to hit their stride at just the right time, closing the season with 10 wins in their last 11 games.

If Kansas advances past Western Kentucky, the Jayhawks face a potential matchup with eighth-seeded North Carolina and former head coach Roy Williams.

Williams' Tar Heels must first get past ninth-seeded Villanova on Friday in Kansas City to get a shot at the top seed.

Georgetown, the Big East regular-season champions, earned the two seed after falling to Syracuse in the semifinals of the Big East Tournament.

The Hoyas open play on Sunday in Philadelphia against Florida Gulf Coast, which earned its first NCAA Tournament berth after winning the Atlantic Sun Tournament title.

No. 3 seed Florida was upended by Ole Miss in the SEC championship and will look to get back on track when it takes on Southland champion Northwestern State on Friday in Austin.

Michigan earned the fourth seed in the South, despite falling to Wisconsin in the second round of the Big Ten Tournament. The Wolverines will face off with South Dakota State, the Summit League champs, on Thursday in Auburn Hills.

The only other South Region contest on Thursday pits A-10 tourney runner-up VCU against MAC champion Akron.

The other two South Region games will be played on Friday, with No. 6 UCLA taking on 11th-seeded Minnesota in Austin and seventh-seeded San Diego State facing off with No. 10 Oklahoma in Philadelphia.