Alfredsson, Brown, Toews named finalists for Messier Award

Ottawa's Daniel Alfredsson, Los Angeles' Dustin Brown and Chicago's Jonathan Toews have been selected as the 2013 finalists for the Mark Messier Award.

The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. It honors an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

Alfredsson, the NHL's longest-serving captain, is the Senators' all-time leader in numerous categories, including goals, assists, points and games. Off the ice, he has supported the Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa for the past 10 seasons, purchasing tickets and suites for club members to attend Senators games and serving as title sponsor of Ringside for Youth, the club's primary fundraising event during the season. He has also worked with the Royal Ottawa Foundation for Mental Health and the Sens Foundation.

Brown has spent his entire career with the Kings and has been the club's captain for the past five years. Considered among the league leader in hits, Brown donates $50 for each hit he delivers. Some of the charities that benefit include the Newborn and Infant Critical Care Unit at Children's Hospital Los Angeles, and KABOOM!, a relationship that has raised $60,000 and culminated with a special playground built in Carson, Calif., in September 2010.

Toews became the fourth-youngest captain in NHL history when he was given the title for the Blackhawks in 2008 at the age of 20. He helps grant wishes for the Make-A-Wish Foundation and visits with patients at the local children's hospital and the Misericordia Home in Chicago. Last fall, he returned home to join the Winnipeg Patrolmen Hockey Club and other NHL players for the "Goals for Dreams Hockey Challenge," which helped raise $80,000 for the Children's Hospital Foundation and the Dream Factory, a charity that grants dreams for critically and chronically ill children.

Messier compiles the list of finalists from suggestions obtained through club and league personnel, then chooses the winner.

Previous winners have included Sidney Crosby, Jarome Iginla and Zdeno Chara.