Duterte wins Philippine presidency in official count

An official vote count by Philippine lawmakers has determined that Mayor Rodrigo Duterte was elected president and Rep. Leni Robredo triumphed as vice president in elections earlier this month.

The congressional vote count, which ended late Friday, determined that Duterte, the crime-busting mayor of southern Davao city, received more than 16.6 million votes in an overwhelming victory, while Robredo won more than 14.4 million votes.

Robredo narrowly beat Sen. Ferdinand Marcos Jr., the son of a dictator ousted in a 1986 "people power" revolt, with a margin of just over 263,000 votes.

It was not immediately clear whether Robredo's victory will be contested by Marcos, who has made accusations about possible election irregularities.

Sen. Aquilino Pimentel III said Congress will officially proclaim Duterte and Robredo as winners on Monday.