USA Basketball unveils women's Olympic team

USA Basketball announced Friday the first 11 members of the 2012 Olympic team.

The squad, which will compete for the United States' fifth consecutive gold medal in London this summer, is led by Sue Bird, Tamika Catchings and Diana Taurasi, all of whom were named to their third Olympic team.

Swin Cash, Seimone Augustus, Sylvia Fowles and Candace Parker will be participating on the Olympic stage for a second time, while Tina Charles, Angel McCoughtry, Maya Moore and Lindsay Whalen comprise the newcomers.

"The USA Basketball Women's National Team program has been able to sustain an unparalleled level of success in Olympic competition," said Jim Tooley, USA Basketball executive director/CEO. "That is due, in part, to the continuity of its players. We believe we have selected the best core group possible to continue our success on the international stage. These 11 players include a great mix of international veterans, whose leadership is invaluable to the team, and we have young players who have proven themselves and who are hungry for this opportunity."

A 12th member will be selected at a later date.

The United States team is coached by Connecticut's Geno Auriemma and features five former Huskies: Bird, Cash, Charles, Moore and Taurasi.