Olazabal announces 3 of 4 Ryder Cup vice captains

European Ryder Cup captain Jose Maria Olazabal has announced three of his four vice captains, picking Irishmen Darren Clarke and Paul McGinley and Thomas Bjorn of Denmark for the match against the United States.

In a statement Thursday on the European Tour's website, Olazabal says "I could not be more delighted than to have Thomas, Darren and Paul as vice captains" and that "all three are world-class golfers with tremendous experience of playing in the Ryder Cup."

Clarke, who won the 2011 British Open, says "this is a very strong backroom team because we have been there before and done it."

The Ryder Cup will be held at the Medinah Country Club in Chicago from Sept. 28-30.