A new superconference consisting of the USA, plus 14 academic year.

The MWC and C-USA have both lost members in the ongoing conference shuffle, leading to the coalition announced on Monday, one day after representatives of 16 universities discussed the issue in Dallas.

The schools present included: the United States Air Force Academy, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Colorado State University, East Carolina University, Fresno State, University of Hawaii, Marshall University, University of Nevada, Reno, University of New Mexico, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Rice University, University of Southern Mississippi, University of Texas at El Paso, Tulane University, The University of Tulsa and University of Wyoming.

Hawaii will be a football-only member in the conference, which will consist of 18 to 24 schools and seek NCAA FBS affiliation.

"This is an exciting development that will stabilize the current conferences and create the first truly national conference with members in five time zones and television viewership from coast to coast," said UNLV president and MWC board of directors chairman. "We are moving our plans forward rapidly and expect to complete our conversations in the near future."

The schools are scheduled to work together for the next six months to finalize the daunting merger.