Kidd wins second straight NBA Sportsmanship Award

Jason Kidd of the New York Knicks has been named the 2012-13 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner and is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy for the honor.

Kidd received 91 of a possible 355 first-place votes and finished with 2,474 total points in balloting from NBA players.

The 40-year-old Kidd won the award last season as a member of the Dallas Mavericks. He is only the second player to win multiple NBA Sportsmanship awards, joining Grant Hill, who has been honored three times.

The winner is selected from six finalists, one for each league division. Kidd (Atlantic) was joined by Chicago's Luol Deng (Central), Golden State's Stephen Curry (Pacific), Memphis' Mike Conley (Southwest), Oklahoma City's Nick Collison (Northwest) and Orlando's Jameer Nelson (Southeast).

The award is given to a player who reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball. The trophy is named for Dumars, the former Detroit Pistons guard who was the initial winner in 1995-96.