Ferrer, Almagro advance in Acapulco

Top seeds David Ferrer and Nicolas round victories at the $1.155 million Mexican Open tennis event.

Ferrer, seeded first, breezed past Lukasz Kubot 6-3, 6-3 in 75 minutes on the red clay at The Fairmont Acapulco Princess.

Almagro, the event's second seed, downed France's Benoit Paire 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 to advance.

Ferrer topped Almagro in last week's title match in Buenos Aires, where Almagro was fresh off his championship in Sao Paulo the week before. Ferrer is also the two-time reigning champion here in Acapulco, where he topped Almagro in last year's all-Spanish finale. Almagro titled here back-to-back in 2008 and 2009.

Colombian Santiago Giraldo posted an upset by taking out seventh-seeded Spaniard Marcel Granollers 6-4, 6-3, while other surprise wins came in the form of Pablo Andujar's 4-6, 7-5, 6-4 decision over fifth-seeded German Florian Mayer and Frenchman Jeremy Chardy's 1-6, 7-6 (10-8), 6-0 triumph over fourth-seeded Kei Nishikori of Japan.

Eighth-seeded Spaniard Fernando Verdasco, who was the runner-up here in 2004, also moved on, breezing past Juan Ignacio Chela of Argentina 6-4, 6-2, while Argentina's Carlos Berlocq got past Italian Potito Starace 6-1, 6-4 and Swiss Stanislas Wawrinka downed Spaniard Albert Ramos 6-3, 3-6, 6-3.

Chela titled here in 2007 and was the runner-up in 2006

The 2012 Acapulco champ will receive a check for $277,915.