LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Nicklas Lidstrom is in elite territory after winning the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defenceman for a seventh time.

The veteran Detroit Red Wings blue-liner was selected ahead of Boston's Zdeno Chara and Nashville's Shea Weber in voting by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Lidstrom ranked second in scoring among defenceman with 62 points this season.

He trails only Bobby Orr, who won the Norris Trophy eight times during his career. Doug Harvey won it seven times.