Birmingham, AL (SportsNetwork.com) - The Southwestern Athletic Conference's individual football honors were spread among seven schools when they were announced late Friday.

Alabama State running back Malcolm Cyrus and Alcorn State quarterback John Gibbs Jr. shared co-offensive player of the year honors, while Prairie View A&M University linebacker Jerome Howard earned the defensive player of the year award.

Grambling State's Broderick Fobbs was named the SWAC's coach of the year.

Texas Southern linebacker Darian Claibourne and Mississippi Valley State quarterback Quantavius Peterson shared the newcomer of the year award, and Southern quarterback Austin Howard was named freshman of the year.

Alcorn State and Southern will square off in the SWAC championship game on Saturday.



QB - John Gibbs Jr., Alcorn State

RB - Malcolm Cyrus, Alabama State

RB - Johnta Hebert, Prairie View A&M

OL - DeWayne Houston, Southern

OL - Zach Brown, Southern

OL - Isaac Sampson, Alcorn State

OL - Tre Glover, Prairie View A&M

OL - Damina Love, Alabama State

WR - Julian Stafford, Mississippi Valley State

WR - Willie Quinn, Southern

TE - Jordan Payne, Alcorn State


DL - Arthur Miley, Southern

DL - Deion Roberson, Alcorn State

DL - Demarcus Berry, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DL - Darien Moody, Alcorn State

LB - Jerome Howard, Prairie View A&M

LB - Kourtney Berry, Alabama State

LB - Danny Brownell, Prairie View A&M

DB - Devon Francois, Alcorn State

DB - Najee Bright, Alabama State

DB - Warren Gatewood, Alcorn State

DB - Kevin Rucker, Arkansas-Pine Bluff


PK - Chris Barrick, Prairie View A&M

P - Corey Carter, Texas Southern

RS - Johnta Hebert, Prairie View A&M