Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche was voted the winner of the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's top rookie.

Landeskog's 52 points tied for the most among first-year players. He played in all 82 regular-season games for the Avalanche and finished with 22 goals and 30 assists, becoming the only rookie among the top three in goals, assists and points.

The 19-year-old winger became the first Swede to be named the best rookie since Ottawa's Daniel Alfredsson in 1996, and is the first Avalanche player selected since Chris Drury in 1999.

That first-year performance was good enough to beat New Jersey's Adam Henrique and first-overall pick Ryan Nugent-Hopkins from the Edmonton Oilers.

Jeff Skinner of the Carolina Hurricanes was tabbed the best freshman last season.