A glance at flight disruptions due to volcanic ash

Here is a glance of the flight disruptions and airspace closures across Europe and beyond, caused by a lingering volcanic ash plume drifting from Iceland.

U.K.: All airspace closed until at least 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT Sunday).

Ireland: All airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Monday.

France: Closures have been extended to the southern half of the country. Northern airports are closed until 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Monday.

Germany: All airspace closed until 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT) Sunday.

Austria: Airports closed until at least 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT Sunday). Overflights above 12,000 meters (39,000 feet) are allowed.

Belgium: Belgian airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Sunday.

The Netherlands: All airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Sunday.

Switzerland: Airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Monday. Planes using instruments can fly across Switzerland as long as they stay above 36,000 feet (11,000 meters).

Italy: Airspace in northern Italy closed until 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Monday.

Spain: 14 northern and eastern airports are closed until at least 1800 GMT (4 p.m. EDT) Sunday. Flights to all European destinations except Portugal, south Italy, Greece and Istanbul remain closed. Flights to north and south America operating normally.

Sweden: Airspace closed except to and from the northern city of Kiruna until further notice.

Denmark: airspace is closed until at least 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT Sunday).

Finland airspace closed until 1500 GMT (11 a.m. EDT) Monday.

Norway: authorities have lifted air travel restrictions in most parts of central and northern Norway, including Trondheim and Tromsoe. Airspace in the very far north and south, including the capital, Oslo, remains closed until further notice.

Iceland: flights to UK and mainland Europe suspended indefinitely; flights to U.S. operating normally.

Bulgaria: Airspace closed until further notice.

Poland: Airspace closed Sunday. Overflights permitted above 20,000 feet (6,100 meters).

Czech Republic: airspace closed until at least 1000 GMT (6 a.m. EDT) Monday.

Slovakia: Airspace closed until at least Sunday evening.

Russia: Russian airlines are canceling flights to various points in Europe, but Russian airspace remains open.