St. Louis, N.H. tracks returning to Truck Series in 2014

Martinsville, VA ( - NASCAR released the 2014 schedule for the Camping World Truck Series on Friday.

Next year's schedule in trucks is highlighted with the return of Gateway Motorsports Park, a 1.25-mile oval located just outside of St. Louis. The series competed at the track formerly known as Gateway International Raceway from 1998-2010. It is now independently owned by St. Louis-native Curtis Francois, a former racer with significant ties to the local community. Gateway will hold its race on June 14.

"We're excited to have the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series return to Gateway and to the St. Louis area, which is such a racing hotbed," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "Curtis Francois and his staff have worked diligently to bring NASCAR national series racing back to those great fans."

After a two-year hiatus, New Hampshire Motor Speedway is back on the series calendar. The race date there is scheduled for Sept. 20, one day before its Sprint Cup Series Chase event. New Hampshire hosted a truck race each year from 1996-2011.

While St. Louis and New Hampshire return to trucks next season, Rockingham Speedway and one of Iowa Speedway's two races during the year have been dropped.

The 22-race season will begin on Feb. 21 at Daytona and conclude Nov. 14 at Homestead.

Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track owned by three-time Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart, is scheduled for July 23, and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, the lone road-course race of the season, is slated for Aug. 31. Both of those tracks joined the Truck Series this year.

2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule

Date Site

Feb. 21 Daytona International Speedway

March 29 Martinsville Speedway

May 9 Kansas Speedway

May 16 Charlotte Motor Speedway

May 30 Dover International Speedway

June 6 Texas Motor Speedway

June 14 Gateway Motorsports Park

June 26 Kentucky Speedway

July 12 Iowa Speedway

July 23 Eldora Speedway

Aug. 2 Pocono Raceway

Aug. 16 Michigan International Speedway

Aug. 20 Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 31 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Sept. 12 Chicagoland Speedway

Sept. 20 New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Oct. 18 Talladega Superspeedway

Oct. 25 Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 31 Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 7 Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 14 Homestead-Miami Speedway