North Dakota State will begin its quest for its fourth straight FCS national championship as the No. 2 overall seed in the playoffs.

New Hampshire (10-1) earned the top seed in the 24-team tournament pairings released Sunday. The top eight seeds receive first-round byes.

The field includes 11 conference champions who automatically qualified and 13 teams with at-large bids. All games will be played at home sites starting Saturday, except the Jan. 10 championship game in Frisco, Texas.

North Dakota State (11-1) will play its first game Dec. 6 against the winner of South Dakota State and Montana State.

New Hampshire will play Dec. 6 against the winner of the Sacred Heart-Fordham game.

Other top seeds receiving byes were: No. 3 Jacksonville State, No. 4 Eastern Washington, No. 5 Illinois State, No. 6 Villanova, No. 7 Coastal Carolina and No. 8 Chattanooga.