NFLPA re-elects Smith as executive director

Maui, HI ( - The NFL Players Association has re-elected DeMaurice Smith to a third term as executive director.

Smith was elected on the first ballot among player representatives for the 32 teams, although voting totals were not made available by the union. Eight others were finalists for the position.

"I am proud to represent the best athletes in the world," said Smith in the union's release. "There will always be those who will sacrifice their dignity in a race to the bottom so that they can climb over others to get to the top. I will not join them, and no human should."

The other finalists were James Acho, Jason Belser, Sean Gilbert, Robert Griffith, Arthur McAfee, Rob London, Andrew Smith and John Stufflebeem.

"The Board of Player Representatives made a decision today after two comprehensive days of deliberation and careful consideration of all candidates," said NFLPA President Eric Winston. "We look forward to continue working with DeMaurice Smith to make our union stronger."

Smith was first elected in 2009 to succeed the late Gene Upshaw and was unanimously re-elected in 2012.