Manning, Osborne among selectors for College Football Playoff

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Irving, TX ( - College football Hall of Famers Archie Manning and Tom Osborne will be among the 13 members of the committee that will select the four teams for competition in the first College Football Playoff next year.

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long had already been chosen as the chairman of the committee and the remaining members were announced Wednesday.

Also on the committee will be current college athletic directors Barry Alvarez of Wisconsin, Pat Haden of Southern California, Oliver Luck of West Virginia and Dan Radakovich of Clemson.

The other members are former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese, retired college head coach Tyrone Willingham, former NCAA executive vice president Tom Jernstedt, former Air Force Academy superintendent Lt. General Mike Gould, former college football reporter Steve Wieberg and former Stanford provost and United States Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

"We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them," said Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff. "Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game.

"They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports. But their skills and wide variety of experiences -- from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists -- will ensure that they will be successful. And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor. We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football."

The members were unanimously chosen by the College Football Playoff Management Committee and the commissioners of the conferences overseeing the new playoff. In all, the selection committee members have roughly 230 years of experience in college football.

Long said the committee members will meet several times during the regular season to evaluate teams.

"We will put out 4-to-5 rankings of 20-to-25 teams, somewhere in the middle of the season, similar to the BCS system," Long said at Wednesday's news conference.

The committee members were chosen after each Football Bowl Subdivision conference was invited to submit a list of up to 15 potential candidates. The management committee reduced the list of about 100 names and Hancock began contacting prospective members to gauge their interest.

Term limits for the members will be established at a later date, although it is expected to be about three years with some shorter and others longer.