Griffin III wins O'Brien Award

Baylor junior quarterback Robert Griffin III captured the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

Griffin beat out finalists Andrew Luck of Stanford and Case Keenum of Houston. He is the first Baylor player to capture the award.

The dual threat threw for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns while running for 644 yards and nine more scores for the Bears (9-3). He led the nation with a 192.31 passing efficiency rating.

Griffin led Baylor to its first nine-win season since 1986.