Flanders joins Payton list; Schaetzke added to Buchanan list

The watch lists for the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan awards are full of talented players, but there is no denying Sam Houston State running back Tim Flanders and Georgetown defensive end Andrew Schaetzke have played their way into the mix this season.

On Tuesday, Flanders joined the race for the 25th Walter Payton Award, which honors the outstanding player in the Football Championship Subdivision, while Schaetzke was nominated for the Buck Buchanan Award, which is presented to the FCS' outstanding defensive player. The two highest player awards in the division are presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by Fathead.com.

Flanders, with the moves like Jagger, has danced his way into an opponent's end zone 18 times during No. 3-ranked Sam Houston State's 9-0 start. The redshirt sophomore has helped the Bearkats clinch a berth in the FCS playoffs. He's on pace for a 1,000-yard season and adds to his versatility as a pass- catcher, with 22 receptions for 343 yards.

The 5-foot-9, 210-pound Flanders, from Midwest City, Okla., is a transfer from Kansas State who was named the 2010 Southland Conference Newcomer of the Year.

Schaetzke, a 6-4, 245-pound senior, has fueled Georgetown (8-2) to its first winning season since 1999 and into contention for the Patriot League title. He is first in the league and among the nation's best with 11 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss. He has 65 total tackles as well as one interception, five pass breakups, three forced fumbles and two quarterback hurries.

The resident of Toledo, Ohio, is considered the favorite for the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year award. He made the all-league first team in 2010.

Each Watch List features 20 players, and their bios can be found at http://www.sportsnetwork.com/merge/tsnform.aspx?c=sportsnetwork&page= cfoot2/fcsawards/index.aspx

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the Payton and Buchanan awards after the regular season, beginning Nov. 21. The voters also will choose winners of the inaugural Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman of the year) and the 25th Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) to be presented at the FCS national awards banquet Friday night, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The Sports Network also presents and Fathead.com sponsors those two awards.