Coulter returns to site of first truck win

After running at a half-mile dirt track for the first time last week, the Camping World Truck Series is back on asphalt at a much bigger venue this weekend.

Joey Coulter's fourth-place run made him the highest-finishing series-regular in the July 24 event at Eldora Speedway. The series will now compete at Pocono Raceway, where Coulter is the defending race winner. His first career truck victory came at this 2.5-mile triangular track.

Coulter drove for Richard Childress Racing during his first two seasons in the series (2011-12). He is now behind the wheel of the No. 18 truck for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

"Pocono is a very technical track that requires a lot of concentration and can really be frustrating for a driver to learn," Coulter said. "I like Pocono because it's just different from any other track that we go to."

Coulter finished sixth at Pocono in 2011. Last year, he led the final seven laps to grab the victory here.

"Of course winning at Pocono doesn't hurt how much I enjoy racing there," he said. "I think any track that you win on instantly becomes one of your favorites."

Coulter is currently 12th in the point standings. He has recorded four top-10 finishes in the first 10 races this season, including a second-place run in the April 20 event at Kansas.

Saturday's 50-lap, 125-mile race at Pocono will mark the halfway point of the 2013 season in trucks. Last year, Coulter scored seven of his eight top-five finishes and 10 of his 15 top-10s between Pocono and the season-finale in Homestead, Fla.

Matt Crafton comes to Pocono with a very comfortable 48-point lead over rookie Jeb Burton. James Buescher, the defending series champion, is 51 points behind Crafton, while Ty Dillon is 56 out of the lead.

Thirty-three teams are on the preliminary entry list for the Pocono Mountains 125.

Series: NASCAR Camping World. Date: Saturday, Aug. 3. Race: Pocono Mountains 125. Site: Pocono Raceway. Track: 2.5-mile triangular. Start time: 1 p.m. ET. Laps: 50. Miles: 125. 2012 Winner: Joey Coulter. Television: Speed. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.