Brees, Pierre-Paul, Akers named NFC weekly winners

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, Paul and San Francisco 49ers kicker David Akers have been selected as the NFC's top players for Week 16 of the NFL season.

Brees threw for 307 yards and passed Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Marino (5,084 in 1984) for the most passing yards in a single season in NFL history. Brees also had four touchdowns in the Saints' NFC-South clinching 45-16 win on Monday night against Atlanta.

Pierre-Paul had two sacks and five tackles in the Giants' 29-14 win over the Jets. Pierre-Paul is fourth in the NFL with 15.5 sacks and became the first Giant since Michael Strahan to win the defensive award twice in a three- week span.

Akers made four field goals, including the game-winner with 2:57 left, in San Francisco's 19-17 triumph over the Seahawks. With 42 field goals on the season, Akers passed Neil Rackers (40 in 2005) for the most field goals in a single season in NFL history.