Four Indianapolis 500 winners will try to qualify for this year's race.

There are 35 driver-car combinations listed among the entrants for the race's centennial celebration. The 83-car list is the highest total since 2002.

Past winners trying to make this year's traditional 33-car field are three-time winner Helio Castroneves, two-time winner and defending champ Dario Franchitti and former series points champs Scott Dixon and Dan Wheldon.

The first woman to ever lead the race, Danica Patrick, is one of three women hoping to qualify. Five rookies also will attempt to make the field, and 18 of the 35 drivers have one at least one victory in open-wheel racing.

The race is scheduled for May 29.