South Africa elect to bat against Sri Lanka

South Africa's captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth one-day international against hosts Sri Lanka in Pallekele on Sunday.

The Proteas, trailing 1-2 in the five-match series, need a win to take the series into Wednesday's decider in Colombo.

The tourists were boosted by the return of star batsman Hashim Amla, who missed the last match due to a knee injury. Seamer Rory Kleinveldt was also included for the first time in the series.

The duo replaced opener Alviro Petersen and seamer Ryan McLaren.

Sri Lanka, who will take the series if they win the match, brought back batsman Lahiru Thirimanne in place of Angelo Perera.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Rory Kleinveldt, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM) str-kl/cw