Former world No. 1 Maria Sharapova sailed past 2011 Indian Wells champion Caroline Wozniacki on Sunday in the final of the $5.186 million BNP Paribas Open.

The second-seeded Russian smashed four aces and broke Wozniacki's serve four times en route to a 6-2, 6-2 triumph on the hardcourts at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Sharapova, who overtook Victoria Azarenka for the No. 2 spot in the world rankings with her semifinal win over compatriot Maria Kirilenko, captured her first WTA title of the season and 28th of her career.

Sharapova was awarded $1 million for the victory as she improved to 5-2 all- time against the world No. 10 Dane.

Wozniacki, who was the runner-up here in 2010, received $500,000 for her second-place finish.