Scott Dixon passed Helio Castroneves during a mid-race pit stop and dominated the rest of the way Sunday to win the Grand Prix of Long Beach for the first time.

A three-time IndyCar Series champion, Dixon has not had much luck on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn temporary street circuit, finishing fourth in 2010 for his only previous top 10 at Long Beach.

The New Zealander started Sunday's race third, quickly passed series leader Juan Pablo Montoya and took the lead after Castroneves nearly collided with another car in the pits on lap 33.

Dixon turned back one challenge from Castroneves during the remainder of the 80-lap race and passed Bobby Unser for fifth place on the career victory list with 36. It also was Chip Ganassi Racing's first victory this season.

Castroneves finished second, Montoya third and Simon Pagenaud fourth to give Team Penske another strong finish.